About the Programme

The CLP Internship Programme (CIP) was established in 1998 to build long-term partnerships

with tertiary institutions, to identify and nurture new talents, and to attract students to join CLP when they graduate. This community investment initiative creates a win-win-win situation that benefits the students, the universities and CLP.

The internship programme offers you full-time training during the summer vacation (SUM) or for a 12-month period (SAND). By completing the project, you are not only helping us to meet our business needs, you will also gain valuable work experience and a great sense of achievement.

The internship programme typically covers a wide range of projects suitable for students studying in different disciplines in the university. Please click on the links below to see the details of the available projects with project objectives and deliverables.

Project Scopes

Our Intern's story

Lau, Bing Wang Logan

Acting Engineer I

Generation Business Group

Participating in CLP Internship Programme (CIP) was definitely the most memorable year when I was an undergraduate. I am pleased to share my internship experience during my sandwich year in 2009.

During the year, I was able to increase my knowledge on power generation process. Instead of reading books and attending lectures, I was introduced to enormous equipment in the power plant, like boilers, generators and turbines, which increased my enthusiasm and passion in engineering.

Besides the sightseeing, I was also given an opportunity to assist engineers in their daily works and projects. By participating in different challenging tasks, my communication skills and problem-solving skills were further polished. My mentor also provided me with clear guidance and support when I faced difficulties.

After the completion of the fruitful year, I had a deeper understanding in electricity utility, and was reassured of my aspiration in engineering. I made up my mind to apply for the CLP graduate trainee (GT) programme after graduation. I am grateful for the opportunity given during my CIP and I believe that you will have a rewarding year here too.

Leung, Chun Sing

Engineer II

Power Systems Business Group

I joined CLP as a summer intern in 2010. I was glad to be one of the members of the CLP family. I absolutely consider CIP as a precious training opportunity, which has directed me to where I want and need to develop.

CIP not only gave me a taste of CLP culture, but also equipped me with project handling, problem solving and interpersonal skills. CIP provides university students with an insight into the real working world. It's a great opportunity to see how to apply the theories and models we've learned in lectures to a real-life work setting. I was able to work with professional and distinguished engineers, and was challenged in ways I could not imagine, but colleagues were always there to help me accomplish my task. It truly reflects one of the CLP core values: Cares for people.

My time at CIP deepened my knowledge in various power distribution network operation as well as engineering projects management techniques. In addition to those technical learning, it was also interesting to learn how CLP exercises customer excellence by taking care of and fulfilling customers' needs. Furthermore, through joining various company activities, my communication and social networking skills are much strengthened.

Mentorship is another key success in CIP. Patient guidance and encouragement from my mentor aroused my passion to work on the assigned project. I learnt and was inspired by him on how to put my mind-set into a real engineer.

I joined the CLP family again after my graduation, and now I am an Assistant Engineer in Distribution Network Planning & Design. I have never expected to learn so much within the treasurable CIP period, and I am sure such learning and experience are really useful for my future career. Finally, I hope this experience would give you a better idea of what a career in CLP is actually like.

Don't miss the chance to join CIP and I am looking forward to seeing you in the coming summer!

Cheng, Cindy Tsz Kwai

Engineer II

Power Systems Business Group / North Region

"The work is challenging, but it is also a rewarding experience that gives you a great sense of achievement."

In college, I was fascinated by renewable energy study, and devoted myself into the development and technology. Fortunately, CIP granted me an invaluable opportunity to implement my desire.

During my CLP Internship period, I was delegated to build a renewable energy system at regional depots. The project was full of challenges in respect of identifying the most cost effective and efficient facility amongst various options in a short project timeline. I treasured that the project is not only beneficial to the region cost saving in light and provide an opportunity to turn my engineering knowledge into practice as well as sharpen my communication skill, impact management, teamwork and project management as a whole.

The internship project was not only confined me in hard-core of on job training aspect. It also inspired me a lot. I was privileged to participate in various eye-opening activities ranging from business seminars and meetings, to leisure activities such as sports competitions and community service work. Winning the Engineering Studies Award, I successfully continued my "membership" in this family through the Graduate Trainee Programme upon graduation and I am currently a Planning and Design Engineer in North Region of Power Systems Business Group.

Being an intern truly is a milestone and important footstep to confirm my passion and develop my career in the engineering profession. The harmonious and pragmatic culture provided me a platform to gear up and excel in a real work setting through gradual immersion. After 2+2 years (yet at the same time, so quick) long in CLP studying, I feel oh-so-proud walking across that stage today knowing that I have done VERY, VERY well (Personal feeling) because of my excellent mentors and colleagues. I have to lay gratitude heartily to who stood along my rewarding training program for last four years, and made my life full of wonders and never be the same.

Thank you for seeing me when I had questions. I still remember my first question to you was on career development. You then shared your own experience and provided me with some professional and invaluable advices. Besides that, your expertise in management has offered me a wider perspective to view and analyse problems. Once again, thank you so much to my supervisor Mr. K.C. Ng for all the support over the past years. I hope that you will continue to give me full support in my future life.

Requirements

  • A valid permit to work in Hong Kong SAR
  • A bachelor or advanced degree studentship continuing a full-time university degree course after the internship
  • Good academic results with a GPA of 3.0 or above, or equivalent
  • University endorsement that the internship programme is a part of the curriculum
  • Good communication skills. High proficiency in both written and spoken English. Fluent spoken and written Chinese would be advantageous
  • Active in extracurricular activities is a plus
  • To be a good team player
  • Available full-time during the internship period

Our Recruitment Calendar

Enrollment opens

  • 4 January 2016

Deadline

  • 15 March 2016

Short listing

  • March 2016

Interviews

  • March - April 2016

Appointments

  • May - June 2016

Internship period

  • June - August 2016 (for Summer Interns)
  • One year starting from June/July 2016 (for Sandwich Interns)

Online Application

Loading

Back To Top

internship%202015

如果你希望在大學畢業前汲取寶貴的工作經驗,中電是個好的選擇。

關於計劃

我們在1998年推行「中電實習生計劃」,積極與各間院校建立長遠的夥伴關係,攜手發掘及培育新一代專才,同時藉此吸引專才於畢業後加入中電。這項社區投資為學生、校方及中電創造了一個各方得益的三贏局面。

這項計劃旨在為全日制大學學生提供暑期(SUM)或為期12個月(SAND)的實習計劃。在實習期間,實習生不單能參與推動中電業務的發展,同時亦能獲得極大的工作成就感及實貴的工作經驗。

「中電實習生計劃」廣泛涵蓋各實習項目,為在大學選修不同學科的學生提供相應的實習機會。實習項目包括多個種類。請點撃實習項目的連結以瀏覽其目標與詳情。申請人可在申請表格上選擇合適的實習項目。

實習項目(只提供英文版)

我們實習生的故事

劉炳宏

署理一級工程師

發電業務部

參加中電實習生計劃無疑是我在大學課程中最無法忘懷的一年。當中的經歷記憶猶新,我十分高興能夠在此跟大家分享。

在這一年,除了大學課堂和課本上的知識外,於實習中更有機會接觸發電廠內的大型機器,例如鍋爐、汽輪機、發電機等,這不但使我對整個發電流程有更深入的了解,更讓我對工程產生了濃厚的興趣。

此外,中電工程師的一些日常工作和項目我也能參與其中。這些充滿挑戰的工作,能訓練我的溝通能力和獨立解決問題的能力。每當我遇上難題,中電的導師都會把當中的原理傾囊相授,給予我指引和支持。

那一年之後,我確定了在工程界實踐抱負的決心,於是毅然申請中電見習工程師計劃。我十分感謝中電實習生計劃給予我的機會和培訓,我相信你們選擇參與計劃,亦能獲益良多。

梁進昇

二級工程師

輸電及供電業務部

很高興在2010年能夠參加中電實習生計劃並成為中電大家庭的一份子。我絕對認為中電實習生計劃是一個很寶貴的學習機會,讓我認清個人對將來發展的目標及方向。

中電實習生計劃不單只讓我體會到中電大家庭的文化,更重要的是加強我對項目管理、解決問題和人際交往的技巧,中電實習生計劃能夠擴闊學員對工程界的視野,並且給予我們機會將課堂所學的知識運用於真實的工作環境裡。在我實習期間,有幸得到身邊一群專業工程師同事的指導和協助,使我成功地解決工作上的疑難,完成我的工作,更讓我真正感受到中電的核心價值:以人為本。

我在中電實習生計劃中學習到不少關於整個配電系統的運作概念和工程項目管理的技巧,滿足和照顧客戶需要也是我工作的一部份,對於初次投入社會工作的我,是一項很具挑戰性的嘗試。除此之外,中電亦會舉辦很多不同類型的興趣活動給我們參與,大大增強了我的人際網絡和溝通技巧。

導師的指導亦是中電實習生計劃重要的一環。在導師悉心的教導和鼓勵下,我能夠成功地培養對工作的熱誠並順利完成所委任的工程項目,我更從導師的身上領略到專業工程師的思維模式,真是獲益良多。

大學畢業後,我再次加入中電並參加見習工程師計劃。現在,我已是一位助理工程師,於北區的配電網絡策劃及設計部工作。回顧過去,我深信在中電實習生計劃所學到的知識和經驗必定會畢生受用。最後,希望透過我的經驗分享可以給予你對中電實習生的工作有初步的了解。

把握機會加入中電實習生計劃,享受一個充實又愉快的實習過程。

鄭紫葵

工程師II

電力系統業務集團/北方地區

「這工作具備挑戰性,給予我寶貴的經驗,充滿成功感。」

在大學裡 ,我對可再生能源的開發和技術特別有興趣。幸運地,中電給予我實現願望的寶貴機會。

在中電實習期間,我被委派在地區站中設置可再生能源系統。我們需要在緊湊的時間內決定最具成本效益和高效率的方案,實在充滿挑戰性。該項目不僅有效地節省了電力成本,亦提供機會把我的工程知識付諸實踐,以及增強我的溝通能力,團隊協作和項目管理的經驗。

實習計劃不僅使我在重點職業培訓上得到啟發,我也有幸參加各種活動,如商務研討會、會議、休閒活動(如體育比賽和社區服務工作)等,令我大開眼界。期後我更獲頒發工程研究獎,在畢業後加入公司的見習工程師計劃,我目前已是北區輸電及供電業務部 – 規劃及設計處的二級工程師了。

在我而言,中電實習生計劃確實是一個重要的里程碑,令我肯定了自己的工程師之路。中電的企業文化和諧及務實,是一個可以令我成長和裝備自己的平台。經過2+2年在中電的日子,我對自己的成就感到自豪。當中要歸功於我的導師和同事,我衷心感激他們一路上的鼓勵和幫助,使我經歷了精彩的四個年頭。

要再一次感謝我的導師K.C Ng多年來的支持,他每次都為我解答疑難。還記得第一次我問他關於職業生涯的發展的事,他分享了自己的經驗,也為我提供了一些專業和寶貴的建議,令我學懂用更廣闊的視野來分析問題。K.C. 希望你能繼續給我支持!

參加資格

  • 持有在香港工作的有效許可證
  • 實習後將繼續修讀全日制學士或以上學位課程
  • 平均學業成績達學業平均分數(GPA)3.0或以上,或同等成績
  • 取得大學證明該實習計劃是課程的一部分
  • 有良好溝通技巧,操流利英語,有良好中文說話及書寫技巧更佳
  • 積極參與課外活動更佳
  • 富團隊精神
  • 能於實習期間全時間參與

招募時間表

開始接受報名

  • 2016年1月4日

截止報名

  • 2016年3月15日

篩選

  • 2016年3月

面試

  • 2016年3月至4月

獲選通知

  • 2016年5月至6月

實習期

  • 2016年6月至8月 (SUM 實習生)
  • 2016年6月或7月開始為期一年 (SAND 實習生)

網上申請

立即申請! (只提供英文版)

載入中

回到頁首