This section helps you gain a better understanding of climate, science and environmental conditions we come across in our daily life. Let’s learn more, share our knowledge and start living green!

Let’s reduce carbon emission

It is easy to reduce carbon emission by simply making small changes to your daily lifestyle.

Clothing: Buy one instead of five new clothing per season can reduce up to 80% of CO2e*.

Eating: Maintain a light diet with less meat and plenty of vegetables, e.g. consume 90g potatoes instead of a 90g piece of steak can reduce around 90% CO2e*.

Accommodation: Use portable fan instead of a 1HP air-conditioner for 8 hours can reduce up to 95% CO2e*.

Commuting: Take MTR from Chai Wan to Kennedy Town instead of using private car can reduce up to 99% of CO2e*.

*Carbon dioxide equivalent

Let’s practise low carbon living to save the earth!

Source: Council for Sustainability Development

What are greenhouse effects and global warming respectively?

The greenhouse effect is caused by greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and methane in our atmosphere. As they trap and redirect heat between the sun and the Earth, temperature is being regulated. However with the excess greenhouse gases produced from human activities, greenhouse effect intensifies, causing the world temperature to rise thus global warming.

How does global warming affect our lives?

As temperature continues to rise, melting of glaciers at the Artic and the Antarctica may cause sea level to rise too. For people living in low-lying area, relocation to a new place because of serious flooding is not uncommon. Whereas under such extreme and unforeseeable weather, cultivation becomes more difficult for farmers and food supply will be unreliable as well. Lastly as the climate warms up, it is possible that germs grow more actively, posing a threat to our health.

Why does it always rain during hot weather?

When the temperature rises, the distance between particles in the air expands. As a result, the air’s capacity to hold water molecules also increases. Later, as the vaporised water molecules cool down, they turn into raindrops.

In 2008, a remarkable precipitation occurred in Hong Kong, with 145.5mm of rain recorded in an hour – almost twice the record high of 88.6mm in 1886.

The natural habitat of polar bears has been shrinking due to global warming. Could polar bears one day migrate to Antarctica?

Although it seems the North and South poles share similarities in climate, the migration of polar bears to Antarctica would severely impact the eco balance of the continent. The survival of penguins and sea seals might be threatened as they could be hunted by the polar bears, and thus face the risk of extinction.

Does livestock produce a lot of carbon dioxide (CO2)?

Many human-related activities – for example, industrial processes, energy production, transportation, even our daily consumption patterns – cause carbon emissions and global warming. According to the UN Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), the carbon footprint produced by cattle-rearing accounts for 18% of the world’s total CO2 emissions, owing to the production of animal feed and the transportation of animal products.

Loading

Feedback
Close popup

Your Feedback

We appreciate your feedback which helps us to constantly improve our site. Please rate your experience.

Thank you!

System error. Please try again later.

Back To Top

進一步認識有關氣候、科學及環保的生活常識,大家一起多學習、多實踐、多分享,投入節能減碳的綠適生活!

齊來減少碳排放

在日常生活中,只要我們簡單改變生活習慣,就能輕鬆減少二氧化碳排放。我們可以從衣、食、住、行等各方面做起。

衣:不少人都有購買新衣換季的習慣。如果我們每季由購買五件減至一件,就能減少約80%碳排放*。

食:多菜少肉,實行低碳飲食。例如進食90克馬鈴薯比進食一塊90克的牛排可減少約90%碳排放*。

住:以運作8小時計算,便攜式風扇比一部一匹冷氣機可減少約95% 碳排放*。

行:日常多乘搭公共交通工具,從柴灣乘搭港鐵至堅尼地城比使用私家車能減少約99%碳排放*。

*以當量計算

減碳其實都可以好簡單!一人行一步,輕鬆可做到!

來源: 可持續發展委員會

什麼是溫室效應?  全球暖化又是什麼?

簡單而言,存在於大氣層的溫室氣體(如二氧化碳、甲烷等)會吸收及折射太陽和地球表面的熱力,保持地球的溫度舒適,稱為溫室效應。然而人類活動產生大量溫室氣體,加劇溫室效應,令全球平均氣溫上升,造成全球暖化。

全球暖化對我們有什麼影響?

當全球平均氣溫上升,南、北極冰川迅速溶化,海平面亦因而上升,居住於低窪地區的人就會喪失家園,要另覓居所了。氣候異常,更令農民難以掌控耕種的時間,導致農作物失收,影響糧食供應。而溫暖的氣候亦可能助長不同的細菌滋生,對我們的健康構成威脅。

為甚麼天氣越熱,下大雨的機會越高?

當溫度上升,空氣中的粒子會逐漸變大膨脹,負載水分子的能力也會同時提升。 所以空氣越熱,所載的水分子就會越多,而被蒸發的水分子冷卻後,就會形成大雨落到地面。2008年, 香港曾經歷一場特大暴雨,在1小時內最高降雨量達到145.5毫米,幾乎是1886年最高紀錄88.6毫米的兩倍!

全球變暖導致北極冰川融化,適合北極熊棲息的地方逐漸減少。北極熊可以移居南極生活嗎?

雖然南極的氣候與北極相約,可是北極熊的遷移卻可能大大影響南極的生態平衡!南極大陸的企鵝和海豹很可能因為強弱懸殊而逃不過被北極熊獵食的命運,面臨絕種危機,影響自然生態平衡。

飼養動物也會製造大量二氧化碳?

人類的各種工業活動,例如發電、運輸及日常生活也會直接或間接排放大量二氧化碳,導致地球暖化。根據聯合國糧食及農業組織報告,畜牧業的連串生產活動,包括種植飼料、照料牲口及動物產品的運輸,造成的碳足印等同全球二氧化碳總排放量的18%,其影響不容忽視。故此,環保團體建議我們多吃素食,減少進食肉類及動物相關產品,盡量減低二氧化碳排放。

載入中

意見反映
Close popup

你的意見

你的寶貴意見,能讓我們做得更好。請按這次客戶體驗評分:

謝謝!

系統出現錯誤。請稍候再試。

回到頁首