1. (My Home)Why do I need to pay a deposit when I open an electricity account?
  2. (My Home)How is the amount of deposit determined?
  3. (My Home)Why is the assessment of the amount of deposit based on 60 days of electricity charges?
  4. (My Home)Will your company pay interest on my deposit? How is the interest rate determined?
  5. (My Home)Will the customers who join Autopay be exempted from requests for additional deposit?
  6. (My Home)When will my deposit be refunded?
  7. (My Business)Why do I need to pay a deposit when I open an electricity account?
  8. (My Business)How is the deposit amount determined?
  9. (My Business)Why is the assessment of the amount of deposit based on 60 days of electricity charges?
  10. (My Business)Will your company pay interest on my deposit? How is the interest rate determined?
  11. (My Business)When will my deposit be refunded?

1. (My Home)Why do I need to pay a deposit when I open an electricity account?

Since customers are billed after using electricity for a period of time, a deposit is therefore required as security for the account. When an account is terminated, the deposit will be used to offset any amount outstanding. As stated in our Supply Rules, the amount of deposit will not exceed the highest 60-day electricity charge for an account.

2. (My Home)How is the amount of deposit determined?

We normally request a deposit for an account equal to 60 days electricity charge. For new customers, as we do not have actual electricity usage records yet, the amount of deposit is initially assessed based on the area of the premises ($500 for Public Housing Estates). However, we will from time to time review the amount of deposit with reference to the actual electricity usage.

3. (My Home)Why is the assessment of the amount of deposit based on 60 days of electricity charges?

Residential customers are billed bi-monthly after using electricity for 60 days. Should electricity supply be disconnected as a result of overdue bills, customers would have used electricity for a further period of more than 30 days since billing (because of the time allowed for payment and follow-up), cumulating in a total credit period of more than 90 days. A deposit calculated on the basis of the charges for 60 days may be only just sufficient to cover the billed electricity charges.

4. (My Home)Will your company pay interest on my deposit? How is the interest rate determined?

The company will pay interest on cash deposits. The interest rate is based on HSBC's Savings Rate for savings accounts with balances of $10,000 - $149,999. Interest is paid annually and credited to the first bill after 30th June each year. Interest will also be credited to the final bill when an account is terminated.

5. (My Home)Will the customers who join Autopay be exempted from requests for additional deposit?

Residential customers who join Autopay are exempted from paying additional deposit because we aim to provide our customers with an economical option and a convenient means to make timely payment. However, if there are late payment records after a customer has joined Autopay, the deposit will still be subject to review.

6. (My Home)When will my deposit be refunded?

We will refund you the remaining amount of deposit after deducting any outstanding electricity charges. If there is no outstanding electricity charge on the final bill, the full amount of deposit will be refunded to the registered customer.

7. (My Business)Why do I need to pay a deposit when I open an electricity account?

CLP bill's in arrears and based on actual consumption. We request a deposit in order to provide security for the electricity supplied in the first and last month of service. When an account is terminated, the deposit is used to offset any outstanding charges. As explained in our Supply Rules, the amount of deposit will not exceed the highest 60-day electricity charge for an account.

8. (My Business)How is the deposit amount determined?

A deposit request is usually equal to 60 days worth of electricity charge. Since there are no records for new customers, the amount is initially assessed based on the loading and the business type. However, we will from time to time review the amount of deposit with reference to the actual electricity usage.

9. (My Business)Why is the assessment of the amount of deposit based on 60 days of electricity charges?

Business customers are billed monthly after using electricity for 30 days. Should the electricity supply be disconnected as a result of overdue bills, an extra 30 days or more of supply may have been used, taking the total amount to more than 60 days. Accordingly, a deposit calculated on the basis of the charges for 60 days may be only just sufficient to cover the billed electricity charges.

10. (My Business)Will your company pay interest on my deposit? How is the interest rate determined?

The company will pay interest on cash deposits. The interest rate is based on HSBC's Savings Rate for savings accounts with balances of $10,000 - $149,999. Interest is paid annually and credited to the first bill after 30th June each year. Interest will also be credited to the final bill when an account is terminated.

11. (My Business)When will my deposit be refunded?

We will refund you the remaining amount of deposit after deducting any outstanding electricity charges. If there is no outstanding electricity charge on the final bill, the full amount of deposit will be refunded to the registered customer.

Loading

Back To Top

1. (住宅用戶)為甚麼開設電力賬戶需要繳交按金?

由於客戶是先用電後付款,因此我們需要收取按金,作為賬戶的保證金。當賬戶被終止後,此按金將用以抵銷未付的費用。根據我們的《供電則例》,按金金額不會超過60天的最高電費金額。

2. (住宅用戶)按金金額如何釐定?

按金的金額一般是以賬戶60天的電費水平作基準。對於新開設的賬戶,由於未有實際用電量作參考,我們會根據客戶申請電力時所報的樓宇面積,初步釐定按金金額 (公共屋邨則劃一收取$500)。不過,金額會根據該賬戶日後的實際用電情況,不時檢討。

3. (住宅用戶)為什麼以60天的電費計算按金金額?

我們目前是待住宅客戶用了60天的電力後才發出賬單。倘若該賬戶最後因欠交電費而導致截電,客戶自發出賬單當日起已再多用了30天的電力(當中包括付款期限及追討欠賬的時間),用電欠款實際已累積了超過90天。因此,我們需要收取相等於60天電費的按金,而此按金可能僅足以償還電費單所列出的收費。

4. (住宅用戶)按金有沒有利息? 怎樣釐定息率及如何發放?

現款按金每年可獲發放利息。利息按香港匯豐銀行向$10,000至$149,999戶口結餘所提供的港元儲蓄存款利率計算,並在每年6月30日結算後發出的第一張賬單入賬。當賬戶終止時,利息會在總結賬單入賬。

5. (住宅用戶)採用自動轉賬繳費的客戶是否可以從此豁免增繳按金?

我們讓住宅客戶以自動轉賬代替增繳按金,是希望鼓勵他們以符合經濟效益和簡單方便的方法準時繳費。如果客戶參加自動轉賬後未能準時繳費,公司仍會檢討及增加其按金。

6. (住宅用戶)按金何時才會發還予客戶?

在賬戶終止後,客戶可獲發還扣除應繳費用後的按金餘額。倘若賬戶沒有未付的費用,按金將會全數發還予註冊客戶。

7. (商業用戶)為甚麼開設電力賬戶需要繳交按金?

由於客戶是先用電後付款,因此我們需要收取按金,作為賬戶的保證金。當賬戶被終止後,此按金將用以抵銷未付的費用。根據我們的《供電則例》,按金金額不會超過60天的最高電費金額。

8. (商業用戶)按金金額如何釐定?

按金的金額一般是以賬戶60天的電費水平作基準。對於新開設的賬戶,由於未有實際用電量作參考,我們會根據客戶申請電力時所報的負荷及業務性質,初步釐定按金金額。不過,金額會根據該賬戶日後的實際用電情況,不時檢討。

9. (商業用戶)為什麼以60天的電費計算按金金額?

我們目前是待商業客戶用了30天的電力後才發出賬單。倘若該賬戶最後因欠交電費而導致截電,客戶自發出賬單當日起已再多用了30天的電力(當中包括付款期限及追討欠賬的時間),用電欠款實際已累積了超過60天。因此,公司需要收取相等於60天電費的按金,而此按金可能僅足以償還電費單所列出的收費。

10. (商業用戶)按金有沒有利息? 怎樣釐定息率及如何發放?

現款按金每年可獲發放利息。利息按香港匯豐銀行向$10,000至$149,999戶口結餘所提供的港元儲蓄存款利率計算,並在每年6月30日結算後發出的第一張賬單入賬。當賬戶終止時,利息會在總結賬單入賬。

11. (商業用戶)按金何時才會發還予客戶?

在賬戶終止後,客戶可獲發還扣除應繳費用後的按金餘額。倘若賬戶沒有未付的費用,按金將會全數發還予註冊客戶。

載入中

回到頁首