Eco-friendly Fish Farm

A Customised Energy Efficiency Solution for Greater Sustainability Performance

The operator of the SAR's first large-scale indoor fish farm, Aquaculture Technologies Asia Limited (ATAL) saw the need to stay competitive by maintaining an energy-efficient, cost-effective operation that can support environmental sustainability.

After searching high and low, ATAL finally adopted a comprehensive energy saving solution covering all aspects of its operation. Central to the solution, a variable speed drive (VSD) was installed to regulate the speed of water pumps and air blowers, which together consume up to 70% of the fish farm's overall electricity consumption. The feature of VSD has enabled ATAL to adjust the running speed of these energy intensive devices according to the needs of the fish population thus significantly reduces its overall energy consumption.

As part of the GREENPLUS eco-solution, a heat pump system for maintaining water temperature and a partially solar powered T5 fluorescent lighting system were also installed. Total cost and environmental benefits are obvious:

  • Save energy costs by 20%
  • Reduce carbon emissions by 75 tonnes per year

It also creates an environment akin to the natural habitat of groupers, helping to produce healthy fish with a lower mortality rate. All these benefits have come at a manageable capital investment cost with a payback period of less than two years.

Tai On Chicken

Breathing New Life into a Traditional Industry

It has been more than half a century since the Heung family opened its first chicken farm in Hong Kong. Now, with the second generation taking over the helm of Tai On Chicken, the company has found new ways to enhance its operations while helping to protect the environment.

"Since we need year-round room temperature control and 24-hour lighting, energy expenses alone used to take up nearly 13% of the total cost of raising a chicken. After joining CLP's GREENPLUS Programme, we were advised of the most effective means to reduce costs thus making our business more competitive," Mr. Heung Yam Chun explained.

CLP offered a variety of cost effective and eco friendly recommendations, including replacing the diesel boiler with a heat pump system and changing all inefficient incandescent light bulbs to compact fluorescent lamps.

Mr. Heung was delighted with the outcome. "Our chicken farm in Fanling has reduced its energy expenses by 30%," he said. "This means we can save HK$100,000 and 60 tonnes of carbon emissions every year! With an investment payback period of just two years, I am confident this will secure our competitiveness and ensure our future growth in the market."

Hydroponic Farm

Puts the Renewable Concept into Practice

The 30,000 square feet hydroponic farm is located at River Beas in Sheung Shui. With the assistance of CLP GREENPLUS program in achieving energy saving, the farm puts the renewable energy application into practice.

To cater the energy consumption of the hydroponic farm, CLP account manager arranged site visits to assess the feasibility of renewable energy application. Two types of solar panels with a self-designed GREENPLUS console were recommended to install. The console also indicates and compares the figures of electricity generation from two different types of solar panels while arousing public awareness and understanding in renewable energy.

Applications of Renewable Energy: A Real-Life Case

Considering the geographical environment of the hydroponic farm, CLP recommended the installation of 3 sets Concentrated Photovoltaic (PV) panels and 8 sets Flexible Thin Film Photovoltaic (PV) panels to supply partial energy to the farm.

Sun-tracking Concentrated Photovoltaic panels concentrate the sunlight onto a smaller area of semiconductor PV cell with 25% efficiency which is higher than the normal PV panels. During direct sunlight with sun-tracking device, the panels show good performance despite the installation depends on geographic environment and requires spacious area.

As for the Flexible Thin Film Photovoltaic panels, the compact size is easy for installation and more flexible for placement. Its efficiency is only 10% which is much lower than Concentrated Photovoltaic panels but it performs comparatively well even under diffused sunlight.

Loading

Back To Top

亞洲水產養殖科技公司

可持續營運的能源效益方案

維持營運成本效益及實施節能,是全港首個大型室內龍躉漁場的成功經營之道。亞洲水產養殖科技公司(ATAL)深明這兩項要素的重要,並同時可保持業務的競爭力,及促進環境的可持續發展。

A T A L採用的節能方案全面,涵蓋到漁場營運的各個層面:水泵及氣泵的耗電量佔漁場總耗電量高達70%,安裝變頻器裝置,可根據龍躉生活習性及實際需要去調節水泵及氣泵的運作速度,從而大大減少整體的能源消耗。

整套「綠倍動力」的環保節能方案,還包括安裝保持水溫穩定的熱泵系統,以及由太陽能板供電的T5光管系統。漁場採用全方位的節能方案有以下顯著的效益成果:

  • 節省20%的能源成本
  • 每年減少75公噸的碳排放

除了達到節能減碳外,漁場亦成功把各漁池營造成與野生龍躉生活水域相近的環境,使養魚更加健康,有效減低死亡率。整個漁場投入的環保方案需要兩年的回本期。

泰安雞

 

傳統行業 與時並進

香氏家族於本港經營雞隻飼養行業超過半個世紀,第二代成員接手掌舵之後,創立本地活雞品牌「泰安雞」之餘,亦努力尋找提升營運效率和環保表現的機遇。

鴻運農場負責人香欽俊先生表示:「我們一年四季都需要控制雞場的溫度和24小時照明,能源開支約佔飼養成本的13%,中電『綠倍動力』的節能方案,確實能幫助我們提高競爭力。」

中電提出了一系列既環保又極具成本效益的建議,包括以先進的電熱泵系統取代原有的柴油鍋爐,以及添置節能光管和慳電膽,取代低能源效益的鎢絲燈膽。

香先生對有關措施的成果感到非常滿意:「新方案實行後,位於粉嶺的雞場大幅減少能源開支達30%,即每年可以節省10萬元和60噸碳排放!預計投資可在兩年內回本,實施改善建議後,加強了我對提高競爭力和市場拓展方面的信心。」

水耕種植園

積極實踐「再生」理念

位於上水雙魚河佔地達30,000平方呎的水耕種植園,透過中電「綠倍動力」計劃協助,引進可再生能源,達致節能目標,進一步實踐公司的「再生」理念。

因應水耕種植園的用電需要,中電安排客戶經理實地考察,評估採用可再生能源的可行性後,建議在戶外安裝兩款太陽能板裝置,再配合自行設計的「綠倍動力」監察系統,顯示及比較兩種太陽能系統的發電數據,讓客戶掌握更多可再生能源系統資訊,並藉此項計劃加強公眾對可再生能源的認識及應用。

可再生能源應用實況

中電人員考慮了水耕種植園的地理環境後,安裝了3組高聚光型太陽能板以及8組薄膜型可屈曲太陽能板,供應水耕種植園的部份用電。

高聚光型太陽能板能按照預設的陽光軌跡系統追蹤太陽光,再透過光學裝置收集在細小面積的光伏電池上。這款太陽能板的優點是光轉電效率達25%,比一般太陽能板為高;在陽光直接照射下,配合陽光軌跡系統,光轉電的效率會更佳。然而太陽能板擺放位置須配合地理環境及視乎可用空間而定。

至於薄膜型可屈曲太陽能板的特性是體積輕巧,安裝容易,擺放位置亦較有彈性。雖然光轉電效率只為10%,比高聚光型太陽能板相對較低,但在擴散的陽光下,這款太陽能板的效率則較穩定。

再生理念 生生不息

水耕種植園會向中電「綠倍動力 」計劃其中一間節能合作伙伴-食肆「清涼廚房」收集廚餘用作培苗用的養料,而所種植的蔬菜則會售予對方作食材,進一步實踐「再生」理念,共建低碳業務。

載入中

回到頁首