Sunshine Laundry Convenience Store Co., Ltd.

Electrical Equipment Helps Laundries Achieve Cost Savings

As market competition grows ever stronger, a wide range of businesses including laundries are faced with increased cost pressure. To increase revenue and cut cost, many laundries have adopted the recommendations and assistance of the CLP GREENPLUS programme. By adopting electric washing and drying equipment, such businesses not only can reduce operating costs and improve energy efficiency, but also provide their employees with a safer and healthier working environment.

With 60 shops in Hong Kong and a 15,000 square-feet workshop, Sunshine Laundry Convenience Store Co., Ltd. as early as 2006 and 2007, in the face of rapidly increasing energy cost, aimed to mitigate such impact to its business by introducing electric washing and drying equipment, and other energy-saving measures into its day-to-day operations.

"Previously, our washing and drying equipment primarily used gas or other fuels as their energy sources. Yet the prices of such fuel became more volatile from 2006 to 2007 and even resulted in an increase of 10-15% per month, which put heavy pressure on our operating expenses," said Mr. Ringo Wong, Managing Director of Sunshine Laundry Convenience Store Co. Ltd.. He actively sought solutions, and with CLP's assistance, Wong learned the advantages of electrical equipment.

Simple implementation and operation of new equipment

"At present, in our shops, we have converted about two-thirds of our dryers to electrical ones and in our workshop, 13 dryers are powered by electricity," Ringo Wong said. Following the replacement with electric dryers, energy efficiency improved through reduced consumption of energy while energy costs also dropped.

With nearly 20 years in the laundry sector, Wong pointed out that electric clothes dryers provide excellent energy efficiency and drying speed, with their drying principle making clothes softer and more comfortable. In addition, since the electric clothes dryers do not burn gas, the working environment has become quieter, cooler and safer while operation and maintenance are very convenient. "Compared to traditional dryers, the electric dryers are more popular among our staff, and thus we have adopted electrical equipment in all the stores recently opened, including the one on Sai Yee Street in Mong Kok," Wong said.

In fact, in addition to adopting electric dryers, the company has also implemented a number of energy-saving measures in its shops, including the use of T5 energy-efficient fluorescent tubes and LEDs. In recent years, the company has expanded in the self-service laundry business with the establishment of eight 24-hour laundromats in Hong Kong. By taking advantage of CLP's non-peak hour rates, Sunshine has not only cut its operating costs, but also successfully attracted customers who prefer to use laundromats. The move has actually brought in new revenue while cutting cost.   

Green Hill Laundry

 A 10% drop in monthly expenditures and reduction in operating costs

At the Green Hill Laundry Pro Shop established in 2009, CLP also proposed to replace traditional gas dryers with electric clothes dryers, thereby successfully reducing energy costs. Mr. Raymond Ma, Customer Services Manager of Green Hill Laundry Pro Shop, noted that in terms of laundry by pound, for example, by using electric clothes dryers, the company saved approximately 10% in monthly energy expenses. "This saved resources, which allowed us to cover spending in other areas," he said.

Ma explained that an electric clothes dryer directly dries clothes with the heat generated by the heating element. Compared with a conventional gas dryer, such process is simple, direct and safe. Moreover, the remaining heat in the dryer allows clothes to be dried at a relatively low temperature, which also indirectly improves energy efficiency.

"An electric clothes dryer doesn't burn gas, so the indoor temperature is relatively lower, while the indoor air stays fresh, allowing employees to work in a safer, healthier environment," Ma said. He added that the process of replacing old equipment with electric clothes dryers is simple and quick. "As connection to internal ventilation is not needed, installation is more flexible. All you need is a stable supply of electricity," he stated.

More comprehensive functionality, greater durability, increased savings

Currently, the Green Hill Laundry is running three electric dryers that provide more comprehensive functionality compared with gas dryers. Ma noted that the equipment replacement has contributed to operating cost savings as well as enhancement on work efficiency. "In general, the components of the electric clothes dryers are simpler than those in gas dryers, and failure rates are comparatively lower. Repairs can be handled by qualified electrical technicians, which is more convenient and faster than waiting for a gas supplier to send maintenance staff," Ma said.

Ma said with a smile that in the future, the company will first consider electric clothes dryers when they plan to add new equipment. In fact, through the energy-audit service provided by CLP, the company has not only switched to electric dryers, but also converted to adopt a lighting system that utilises energy-efficient T5 fluorescent tubes and LED bulbs. "The equipment saves energy and is more durable, hence effectively reducing the energy costs of the company," Ma said.

Loading

Back To Top

陽光洗衣便利店

電能設備助洗衣店省成本

面對市場競爭愈趨激烈,包括洗衣業在內的各行業均面對成本增加的壓力。為了開源節流,不少洗衣店採納了中電「綠倍動力」計劃提供的建議和支援,透過更換電洗衣及乾衣設備,一方面降低營運成本、提升能源效益,另一方面為員工提供更安全、健康的工作環境。

在本港有60間門店,並設有15,000呎工場的陽光洗衣便利店有限公司,基於能源開支持續上升,早在2006至2007年,已開始構思更換電洗衣乾衣設備,及其他節能產品,以減省日常營運的能源成本。

「從前我們的洗衣乾衣設備多以氣體或其他燃料作能源,但由於相關能源價格較波動,在2006至2007年期間甚至錄得每月10至15%的升幅,對營運開支構成沉重壓力。」基於上述原因,陽光洗衣便利店有限公司執行董事黃達強積極尋找解決方案,並在中電協助下,了解到電能設備的優勢。

轉換新機 操作簡便

「目前,門市約有三分之二乾衣機已轉用電能,而工場內的13台乾衣機亦以電力作能源。」黃達強解釋,在更換電乾衣機後,不但改善了能源效益,減少能源在轉換過程中的消耗,更降低能源成本。

投身洗衣業近20年,黃達強表示,電乾衣機除提供理想的能源效益和乾衣速度,其乾衣原理亦令衣物更柔軟、順滑。此外,由於電乾衣機毋須燃燒氣體,不但令工作環境變得寧靜、涼快及安全,其操作和保養十分方便。「與傳統乾衣機相比,電乾衣機較受員工歡迎,故近年開業的門市,包括旺角洗衣街分店均採用電能設備。」

事實上,除了改用電乾衣機外,該公司還實行一系列節能措施,包括在門市令用T5節能光管和LED。近年,該公司又拓展自助洗衣業務,在全港開設8間24小時營業的洗衣店,配合中電非繁忙時段收費措施,在降低營運成本的同時,還成功吸納一群習慣採用自助洗衣模式的客戶,做到真正的開源節流。

綠の丘洗衣專門店

月慳10%開支 減營運成本

在2009年開業的綠の丘洗衣專門店,也在中電的建議下,把傳統的氣體乾衣機更換成電乾衣機,成功減省能源成本。綠の丘洗衣專門店客戶服務經理馬文幹透露,若以磅洗服務為例,使用電乾衣機後,該公司每月能源開支減省約10%。「這使我們能節省資源,以補貼其他方面的開支。」

馬文幹解釋,由於電乾衣機使用發熱綫產生熱力,直接把衣物烘乾,過程較傳統氣體乾衣機簡單直接,而且更為安全,其餘熱更能讓乾衣機以相對較低的溫度把衣物烘乾,間接提升能源效益。

「電乾衣機毋須燃燒氣體,故室內溫度相對較低,而空氣亦較以往清新,讓員工能在更安全、健康的環境下工作。」馬文幹表示,更換電乾衣機的過程簡單快捷。「由於不用接駁入氣喉,故在安裝方面更具彈性,只要有穩定的電力供應即可。」

功能較全面 耐用兼省錢

目前,綠の丘洗衣專門店在店內設置了3台電乾衣機,由於相關型號的功能較氣體乾衣機全面,馬文幹直言,更換設備後除有利節省營運成本,更有助提升工作效率。「一般來說,電乾衣機的組件較氣體乾衣機簡單,故其故障率亦相對較低。即使出現問題,亦可由合資格的電器技工處理,較以往須等候氣體供應商派員維修更方便省時。」

馬文幹笑言,如日後添置乾衣機,亦會首先考慮電乾衣機。事實上,透過中電提供的能源審核服務,該店目前除改用電乾衣設備外,其照明系統亦轉換為T5節能光管和LED燈泡。「有關設備不但節能而且耐用,可有效降低企業的能源成本。」

載入中

回到頁首