Sailing Boat Catering Group

Pioneer in Green Catering Nutritious options for Students

Sailing Boat Catering Group has been serving same-day, freshly prepared lunch boxes for secondary and primary schools in Hong Kong for over twenty years and provides quality nutritious meals for over 50,000 students daily. The group continuously practices several environmental conservation measures, establishes clear goals, and adheres to the principle of “zero waste, recycle, and reuse.” It is the pioneer in Hong Kong to use reusable lunch boxes, determined to be the role model of the industry for environment conservation.

To improve the effectiveness of environmental conservation, the group has installed various electric stoves in its own central kitchen. This has reduced the temperature in the kitchen by 30% compared to the previous year. The food preparation line incorporates an electric temperature-controlling tunnel that uses smart heating units rather than traditional heating coils to warm up food directly without additional heat conduction, effectively reducing energy loss. As heat transfer is of great efficiency, the temperature of food is raised within minutes to retain the nutrition and flavour of food with 10% less electricity. In addition, traditional sterilisation requires a higher operating temperature but smart heating transfers heat directly to the food, strengthening food safety and quality.

Mr Wong Tsz Yin, Manager of Operations of Sailing Boat Catering Group said, “CLP proposed different energy saving solutions in response to our needs. The solutions allowed us to enhance the quality and safety of our school lunch and to provide students with healthy food options. The installation of electric cooking equipment and devices in our central kitchen increased energy efficiency with savings that enabled us to purchase more nutritious ingredients for students. This is a win-win for all parties.”

Vita Green Health Products Co. Ltd.

Smarter Operations for Greener Achievement

Vita Green Group strikes to maintain high international pharmaceutical standards at every manufacturing process of its health care products, while actively promoting environmental protection. In recognition of its energy conservation effort, the Group received the Gold Award from CLP GREENPLUS Award 2017 in the category of industry.

Vita Green Group is a reputable health products manufacturer and is proud to fulfil its social responsibility for the community. One of the most remarkable environmentally friendly practices it implements is by reusing 90% of the high-temperature steam from the electric boiler for dehumidifying products. Meanwhile, the equipment is installed with smart control timers, saving about 430,000 kWh per year.

Vita Green Group adopts the air flow optimisation service provided by CLP. It helps predict air flow pattern and temperature distribution in its warehouse and optimises ventilation system designed for better supply air flow, avoiding accumulation of hot air. Such measures save energy consumption up to 170,000 kWh per year.

Furthermore, the Group makes use of the CLP’s Meter Online service to anticipate high consumption days with occurring times to better plan for operations processes, and to also monitor power consumption of facilities to adopt corresponding flexible energy saving measures for further enhancing energy efficiency.

With the above measures, its factory and warehouse can keep an optimised temperature, humidity and purity consistently, so that the best quality product can be guaranteed. Dr. Helen Chan, CEO of Vita Green Group, said ‘We are not only concerned about the health of people, but also the health of our planet seriously. We hope to help our customers stay healthy and enjoy their lives in a sustainable green environment with a sense of health and well-being from the inside out.’

Cheung Wing Kee Noodles Factory Co. Ltd.

Traditional Factory Becomes Eco-Friendly Pioneer

Cheung Wing Kee Noodles Factory Co. Ltd. is a local noodle manufacturer at Hung Hom for over 60 years. Cheung Wing Kee is dedicated to making noodles as well as protecting the environment by implementing energy conservation measure in its factory and shop. As a recognition of its effort in energy saving, Cheung Wing Kee received the Gold Award from CLP GREENPLUS Award 2016 in the category of SME Office, Store & Manufactory.

Mr. Hui, the Managing Director of Cheung Wing Kee, said, ‘We strive for perfection in both noddle production and ingredient selection. We are willing to make great efforts in achieving higher productivity and energy efficiency in our production line, and make a contribution to environmental protection."

Cheung Wing Kee’s new factory is equipped with energy saving rice noodle production line. It incorporates energy saving designs, such as using high-performance insulation materials at steam cabinet and integrating a steam volume control function for reduction in heat loss. These simple-but-effective modifications save approximately 48% of energy consumption compared to traditional production. In addition, ovens for dried noodles are equipped with thermostat and timer to reduce energy waste due to overheat, maintain the product stability and enhance efficiency. The factory also incorporates a ventilation system to provide fresh air and reduce the overall cooling load on air-conditioning system.

Cheung Wing Kee's shop installed LEDs, compact fluorescent lamps and energy-efficient T5 fluorescent tubes. In addition, energy-saving notices are posted as reminders to raise employees’ energy conservation awareness. With these energy efficient initiatives, the traditional noodle factory is doing an exceptional job in achieving a green work environment.

Vitasoy

Chiller Optimisation Showing where to Save

The brand of Vitasoy is not only a household name of beverages in Hong Kong, but equally well known worldwide. The existing plant has been in operation since 1980’s and its operation requires chiller units which cool mainly office space as well as some manufacturing and storage areas. The cost of operating the chillers contributes significantly to Vitasoy’s overheads.

To further enhance the energy efficiency, CLP conducted Chiller Optimisation Services on all four chiller units by using comprehensive and non-invasive measurement techniques to determine the actual performance of each unit over time. From site measurement, CLP discovered that the coefficient of performance (COP) for one of Vitasoy’s air-cooled chillers had deteriorated significantly, from the manufacturer’s specified level of 2.32 to 0.68. This chiller could not help the other 3 chillers sharing the heat load as it was only running at around 10 to 20% efficiency most of the time and also worsen to direct the flow of chilled water into this insufficient cooling plant.

Replacing an Inefficient Chiller Unit Increases the COP Significantly

With site verification and recommendation from CLP, Vitasoy decided to replace the inefficient chiller unit and was completed in January 2015. Since the COP for the new unit is 3.2, Vitasoy can save roughly 80% energy cost through this chiller replacement alone. The company expects the payback period within a year and a half.

Manually Sequence for Optimum Efficiency for Added Savings

Through measurements taken from different chiller units during various part load conditions, CLP further recommended that Vitasoy manually sequence the operation of the four chiller units to attain even better energy efficiency without adding any investment cost.

If some chillers would give superior performance than others in full load or part load conditions, it should be switched on first and for most of the time. The operator is also reminded to keep existing chiller units full load as far as practicable before switching on additional units in part load conditions. Therefore, another 5% in energy savings are expected to achieve.

"Improving efficiency levels is critical to our bottom line and an essential part of our drive to protect the environment. CLP’s Chiller Optimisation Services was extremely effective in addressing the area to enhance efficiency,” said Mr. Herbert Lee, Senior Manufacturing Manager, Vitasoy.  

Diwash

Centralised Dishwashing with Energy Efficiency and Quality

Experiencing the shortage of dish wash manpower especially during festive seasons, two owners of restaurants decided to set up Diwash in year 2011. It is a centralised dish washing system and the first-ever service to relieve the pressure of manpower shortage. The service not only enhances the dishware cleaning quality and working environment, but also creates the positive chain effect of green initiatives to the restaurants.

Diwash is equipped with fully automated facilities. With CLP's assistance in last year, the company adopted full electric operation for three process lines in Kwai Chung workshop in order to reinforce their energy saving practices. Having conducted the Energy Audit service from CLP, the energy efficiency of system was further enhanced.

As Diwash requires significant supplies of hot water, CLP recommended the use of energy-efficient heat pumps which are able to provide stable supplies and constant temperature of hot water in 24-hours. This solution can cater long operation of air conditioning and hot water supplies while supporting the pre-wash operation. The heat pump can simultaneously generate hot water and cool air with significant saving in energy cost of 66% for washing operation and corresponding start-up time was shortened from 30 to 10 minutes.

To enhance the working environment and energy efficiency, Ricky Au and Alex Liu, managing directors of Diwash, are adopting the LED, compact fluorescent lamps and planning to install heat pumps in other workshops.

Loading

Feedback
Close popup

Your Feedback

We appreciate your feedback which helps us to constantly improve our site. Please rate your experience.

Thank you!

System error. Please try again later.

Back To Top

帆船飲食集團有限公司

綠色餐飲業先鋒 學生「有營」之選

帆船飲食集團有限公司為全港中小學供應即日新鮮製作午餐飯盒已超過廿年,每日為5萬多名學生提供優質營養的午膳。 一直以來集團實施多項環保節能措施,訂立明確目標,遵守「從不浪費,循環再用,循環再造」的原則,更是率先使用循環再用餐盒的供應商,銳意成爲業界的環保節能典範。

爲了加強環保節能的成效,集團自設的中央廚房内有不同的爐具都是使用電能設備,令廚房溫度較去年降低30%。於生產線上加入電能調溫隧道,以智能調溫取代傳統發熱線運作,令食物直接受熱而不需要額外的熱傳導,並有效減低熱能損耗。由於傳熱效率極高,食物的温度可迅速在數分鐘內提升,亦同時保留營養和色香味,比一般加熱方法有效減少10%用電量。另外,傳統的熱力殺菌往往需要較高溫度處理,但智能調溫可直接把熱力傳送到飯盒的食物作殺菌,比傳統方法更有效加強食物的安全和品質。

帆船飲食集團營運經理黃梓賢先生表示:「中電因應我們的需要,提出不同的節能方案,讓我們優化學校午餐的品質及安全,為學生提供健康飲食的選擇。至於我們在中央廚房配置電能設備及爐具,既能提高能源效益,節省的成本又可以為學生採購更多營養食材,一舉多得。」

維特健靈集團 - 維特健靈大藥廠

精明用電高效益,綠色營商見成效

維特健靈集團除在每個保健產品生產流程細節上嚴格遵從國際標準,於推動環保方面亦同樣一絲不苟。集團更獲得中電「環保節能機構」嘉許計劃2017的工業組別金獎。

除了保持草藥及保健產品的高品質,集團亦盡力在生產流程中全面執行環保措施,為社會出一分力。廠房利用電熱爐製造高溫蒸氣來替產品除濕外,更把90%的蒸氣餘熱回收循環使用。同時在設備上加裝自動關機時間掣,每年可節省約43萬度電。

維特健靈採用了中電的「氣流優化審核」服務,預先評估倉庫範圍內的空氣流向及溫度分佈,以優化空調系統設計及出風位置,避免積聚熱空氣,此舉為集團每年節省高達17萬度電。

此外,維特健靈透過中電的「電錶在線」服務取得每天高用電時段預測,預先調整操作流程,更可監察及掌握設備的用電量,採用靈活的節能措施進一步提升能源效益。

採取以上不同措施可使廠房及倉庫的室溫、濕度及純度保持最佳狀況,產品自然具有優質保證。維特健靈集團董事長陳曦齡博士表示:「維特健靈不單重視人的健康,亦非常重視地球的健康。我們希望帶給顧客的不單只有強健的體魄,還有可持續發展的綠色環境,令大家擁有真正由內到外的健康。」

張榮記粉麵廠有限公司

傳統老舖變身環保先鋒

60年老字號「張榮記粉麵廠有限公司」紮根紅磡,以百分百香港製造的麵製品馳名。張榮記不單用心造麵,更為節能環保花盡心思,在廠房和門市全面推動節能措施,更榮獲中電「環保節能機構」嘉許計劃2016的中小企業─辦公室、倉庫及製造(金獎),肯定品牌的努力。

張榮記董事總經理許義良先生表示:「張榮記不論在技術上或選料上同樣力求完美。我們願意花心思如何讓每個工序更符合高效節能,一方面提升生產力,也為節能環保盡一分力。」

張榮記於新廠房內裝設河粉生產線,新流程中加入節能設計及裝置,例如在蒸箱位置使用高效隔熱物料及加設蒸氣量調控功能,減少熱力流失。簡單到位的節能措施,相較傳統河粉生產機器節省約48%用電量;製造乾麵的焗爐則配備電子恆溫控制和計時器,避免焗爐因溫度過高而浪費能源,亦更容易控制麵製品的質量,有效提升生產力。廠房內安裝鮮風抽氣系統,取代一般以空調設備抽氣的方法,成功降低空調負荷,仍能保持空氣流通。

張榮記亦於門市使用LED燈、慳電膽和較慳電的T5光管,並在店內張貼節能告示,提示員工關掉無需使用的電器,提高員工的節能意識,務求從内至外、上而下全面實踐節能環保的工作環境。

維他奶

優化製冷系統 節省成本顯著

維他奶不僅是在香港家喻戶曉,更是享譽國際的飲品品牌。目前的總部大樓自80年代投產,當中的辦公樓層、廠房和倉庫內設有多部製冷系統以作空調之用,因此這些能源消耗佔了整體營運開支較大比重。

為提升能源效益,中電提供製冷系統優化服務,在不影響企業運作的情況下,為大樓內的四部製冷系統進行全面評核。據中電實地檢測的報告顯示,大樓內其中一部製冷系統的性能系數(COP)強差人意,以製造商2.32的標準而言僅達0.68,在大部份時間只在10至20%的製冷效能下,不但未能配合其他三部系統運作,反而增加了整體製冷程序的負擔。

更換製冷系統 提升能源效益

在參考了中電的實地檢測及建議後,維他奶決定取締能源效益較差的製冷系統,並於2015年1月完成該項工程,由於新系統的性能系數達至3.2,公司在更換該系統後節省達80%能源開支,預計一年半內回本。

人手優化程序 額外減低開支

中電亦為大樓的製冷系統在不同負載的情況下作檢測,建議在無須增加額外成本的前題下,以人手優化操作程序,進一步改善整體能源效益。例如首先啟動能源效益較佳的製冷系統,又建議操作人員盡量把運作中的製冷系統保持在全負載狀態,然後才考慮啟動其他製冷系統作部份負載,期望可進一步節省5% 能源。

據維他奶國際集團有限公司高級工程經理李才順先生表示:「有效提升能源效益是公司最基本的要求,也是實現環保的主要工作。而中電的製冷系統優化服務能有效地達到我們的目標,而且成效非常顯著。」

碗然一新

中央洗碗模式節能與品質兩者兼得

香港食肆洗碗工人長期供不應求,在大時大節情況更見嚴重,兩位食肆老闆遂於2011年創辦洗碗工場,開創本地「中央洗碗模式」填補業界洗碗空缺,亦提升了清潔餐具的專業質素,改善工作環境,並同時締造了從工場到客戶食肆連鎖節能的環保效果。

碗然一新的工場內配備全自動化設備,為更進一步實踐節能理念,碗然一新去年接洽中電客戶經理,接納其建議在葵涌新工場的三條大型洗碗線採用全電能化操作。另外,公司亦參與中電「能源審核服務」,進一步提高工場運作的能源效益。

由於工場需要大量熱水供應,中電建議採用全自動操作熱泵式熱水器,採用恆溫系統之餘,亦可24小時穩定地供應熱水,十分適合長時間需要熱水及空調運作的工場,既能為三條洗碗線提供預洗功能,並同時輸出冷氣,比原來的洗碗模式大幅度節省66%能源成本,又使工場生產線的開機時間由半小時縮短至十分鐘內啟動。

碗然一新兩位董事歐允傑及廖家寶計劃在其他工場也安裝熱泵式熱水器系統;兩人還將所有工場的照明逐步全面換上LED及慳電膽,既可以改善工作環境,更可以節能。

載入中

意見反映
Close popup

你的意見

你的寶貴意見,能讓我們做得更好。請按這次客戶體驗評分:

謝謝!

系統出現錯誤。請稍候再試。

回到頁首