Time for a clean sweep! 5 natural ways to clean your refrigerator

Don’t forget to clean your refrigerator during your year-end clean sweep! The refrigerator might have accumulated a funny smell with more and more food got stocked in it. You could follow the below 5 steps for a more natural cleaning method instead of using a strong chemical cleanser:

Step one: Prepare natural cleanser

Soda powder, vinegar, salt and water are the prefect natural cleansers, which could be easily found in the supermarket! Tools including towels, sponges and brushes are also needed. Once you have all the above materials and tools, you could take out all the food and chuck away those expired from the refrigerator and unplug it from the power.

Step two: Use “vinegar and salt solution” to banish stinks

After taking out the shelves, we could use vinegar and salt solution for cleaning. Vinegar could deodorise the unpleasant smell while salt could disinfect. Prepare the solution with 1 portion of vinegar: 2 portion of salt: 3 portion of cool water. Dip it with sponge to wipe the stinks within the refrigerator, and wipe with water twice afterwards.

Step three: Avoid using wet cloth on ventilation grids

While we should not leave out the ventilation grid, we need to avoid wiping it with a wet cloth, which might result in rusting. Use vacuum to clean the grid instead.

Step four: Toothpaste for door seals

It is common to find mold around door seal. Apart from using the “vinegar and salt solution” to clean the mold, toothpaste and toothbrush could be helpful. A reminder to wipe the door seal with water after cleaning.

Step five: Organic deodorants

While it is convenient to use cleanses from the supermarket, those chemicals make them less ideal for maintaining an optimum condition in the fridges where fresh food are usually stored. In fact, lemon, tealeaves and coffee grounds are natural deodorants. You could also dry the used tealeaves could deodorise the fridges, dried coffee grounds could also achieve deodorising result similar to that by activated charcoal. The simplest way is to put sliced lemon into the fridges!

As the Chinese New Year is approaching, let’s all be helpful daughters and sons to assist our mothers on cleaning our flats and fridges!

Loading

Feedback
Close popup

Your Feedback

We appreciate your feedback which helps us to constantly improve our site. Please rate your experience.

Thank you!

System error. Please try again later.

Back To Top

年廿八、洗邋遢,記得要執埋雪櫃!食物越積越多,久而久之會發出陣陣異味,假如唔用強烈清潔劑清洗,又可以點幫雪櫃大掃除?跟小編媽媽學識執雪櫃五步曲啦:

第一步:準備天然清潔劑

梳打粉、白醋、鹽、水,都是上好天然清潔劑,超市有售!清潔用品當然不可缺少,毛巾、海綿、牙刷等。集齊所有工具後,就可取出並清理雪櫃內的過期食物,最後拔掉電源。

第二步:「醋鹽水」頑固污漬、油漬

先將層架等配件拆出,小編媽媽就鍾意用天然「醋鹽水」可取代洗潔精清潔,白醋既可除臭,鹽亦可消毒。按次序及1:2:3比例加入,緊記水一定要用冷開水。

用清潔海棉擦拭污漬、油漬,將雪櫃每個角落抹淨後,再用清水抹兩次「過水」。

第三步:通風柵忌濕布抹

通風柵都唔可以忽略,可用吸塵機清理,但絕對不要用濕布抹以免致生鏽!

第四步:牙膏清潔門邊

雪櫃門邊好易有霉菌,可以用牙刷清洗,除了用「醋鹽水」,亦可以用牙膏。緊記清洗後都要用清水「過水」。

第五步:自然辟味劑

雖然市面有很多清潔劑非常方便,但始終化學成分多,用來清潔存放食材的雪櫃未必夠健康。其實檸檬、茶葉及咖啡渣都是天然辟味劑!將泡過的茶葉放置於冰箱內可消除異味,而咖啡渣放置乾燥後放進冰箱,亦可發揮與活性碳類似的除臭吸味功用。至於最常用的當然是檸檬,切開放進雪櫃已可吸除異味。

年廿八大家做個孝順仔女,幫媽媽手一齊執屋執雪櫃啦!

載入中

意見反映
Close popup

你的意見

你的寶貴意見,能讓我們做得更好。請按這次客戶體驗評分:

謝謝!

系統出現錯誤。請稍候再試。

回到頁首