3 minute details of kitchen electric sockets and piping that decorators might forget to remind you about

A friend of mine looked troubled despite the recent success in purchasing a new flat. Turns out his worries stemmed from the renovation. According to the press, the Hong Kong Custom has handled cases in which renovations started with low fee, yet eventually escalated to HK$800,000 due to separate fee for each electrical sockets.

My friend is concerned if he would have a similar experience in his kitchen renovation, especially for installation of electrical sockets and piping. Below are a few recommendations:

1. Plan the Number of electrical sockets in your kitchen according to your needs in electrical appliances

Inadequate number of electrical sockets is one of the common challenges that each kitchen faces. Kitchen has quite a number of power-consuming appliances like ovens and kettles which may require an individual socket or even independent circuit for power. Our recommendation is to first count the number of constantly-plugged appliances such as electrical stove, washing machines etc, and add two to three more sockets for other appliances.

2. Better allocation of electrical sockets

Once you have counted the number of the needed sockets, discuss with your decorator on socket locations. The quickest way is to measure length of wirings and estimate the distance between sockets and where the appliances will be placed. For instance, general length of the wiring of electrical stove is around 1.3 meter,and a socket should be installed nearby.

3. What should we pay attention to while installing piping?

Remember to plan for hot water supply pipes in case hot water is needed in the kitchen. The majority tends to extend the hot water supply from bathrooms, subject to its distance from the kitchen. In case the two are too far apart, an alternative could be installing kitchen-use instant electric water heater.

Also, reserve at least 10 cm space between pipes of hot and cold water supply to prevent interference on insulation function. For long distance pipe installation, ensure using big pipes with small branches to avoid water pressure issues.

Loading

Feedback
Close popup

Your Feedback

We appreciate your feedback which helps us to constantly improve our site. Please rate your experience.

Thank you!

System error. Please try again later.

Back To Top

裝修師父未必會提醒你!3個廚房電掣水喉細節位

小編朋友最近成功上車,但心情卻麻麻,一問之下原來為裝修煩惱。聽新聞講,有海關處理的個案報稱,裝修公司報價相宜,但動工後不斷追加款項,更逐個電掣等收費,令裝修費由17.5萬飈升至近80萬。

朋友擔心自己同樣中伏,特別安裝電掣、拉水喉等更是「一去無回頭」,小編作為過來人,分享咗少少心得:

1. 睇電器,數廚房電掣

廚房特別容易出現電掣唔夠用的情況,電器多之餘,部份高耗電量電器如焗爐、速熱水煲等,有機會需要獨立插頭甚至獨立線路供電。小編建議先數數要「長插」的電器,例如電磁爐、洗衣機、抽油煙機、保溫水壺等,然後再加上兩至三個電掣以備其他家電使用。

2. 電掣擺位有學問

計算數量後,就要同師傅傾傾電掣擺位,否則得物無所用。最直接方法是量度電線長度,以及預計擺放位置與電掣距離,例如電磁爐電線一般只有1.3米長,建議在電磁爐附近設電掣。

3. 拉水喉有咩要注意?

如果廚房想用熱水,裝修時要拉埋熱水管。多數人會考慮從浴室接駁熱水,惟要視乎浴室與廁所的距離,太遠的話,不妨考慮安裝廚房專用的即熱式電熱水爐。

另外,冷熱水管需距離10厘米以上,以免干擾保溫功能。如果要長距離拉水管,要主幹粗、分支細,以免水壓不夠。

載入中

意見反映
Close popup

你的意見

你的寶貴意見,能讓我們做得更好。請按這次客戶體驗評分:

謝謝!

系統出現錯誤。請稍候再試。

回到頁首